Ravenna – the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia

I follow Peter Webscott’s Wordscene blog with great interest. Peter and I have been in contact over the years and I bow to the superior, and original, quality of his work. Ravenna is one of my favourite places. A lovely city to visit, stuffed full of Byzantine treasures. The most marvellous mosaics in the world in my opinion (but then what would I know). I thought that you might enjoy this recent article from Peter, and perhaps spead a while looking around his blog, including a recent series about his visit to Mount Athos.

Read the article with superb photographs and excellent explanations here.

About proverbs6to10

Interested in Byzantium and Patrick Leigh Fermor
This entry was posted in Byzantine Travel, Mosaic Hunting Italy 2009, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Ravenna – the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia

  1. Hi Tom,
    I am very touched by your kind words. Your blog has been an inspiration to me and I have enjoyed the many posts on a wide range of Byzantine related topics you have covered. I wish I wrote with your ease, but I have to write as best I can with what I’ve got!
    Best wishes,
    Peter

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.