Agiasophia.com

I can’t vouch for the accuracy of the content of this site but there is certainly a huge amount of information and photographs here covering art, history, religion, the emperors, major cities etc. It may be worth a visit if you are doing some research.

Take a tour in English here.

About proverbs6to10

Interested in Byzantium and Patrick Leigh Fermor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Agiasophia.com

  1. I agree. This website does contain a large amount of information. However, I can not get beyond the blantant political rhetoric against Turkey. I have seen other sites similar to this one where there are political agendas being expresed in the midst of presenting “historical” information. Nationalism, from any nation, has no place in the study of Byzantium and is only divisive.

  2. LauraDAL says:

    Hi Tom, I can’t refrain myself from commenting in this case and say I totally agree with Michael. This has been a constant issue with some Byzantine pages that turn into political forums and finally loose it: celebrating the Byzantine civilisation as part of our universal culture, rather than injecting political / nationalistic thoughts we could or not agree upon, should be for me the goal. Good to know though which are those “dodgy” pages.

  3. proverbs6to10 says:

    Laura – I know what you mean, but I will leave the post as it is. It is for others to make up their minds and unless we found something really awful I don’t want to indulge in editing that may be considered censorship.

  4. I am in agreement with all above. And it’s not just anti-Turkish but pro-Putin and Milosevic’s Serbia. Ugh. And that Greek flag fluttering right at the top of the home page! In my new book, Prodigal Daughter: A Journey to Byzantium, I interview and quote professors of theology in Niksic, Thessalonica and Nis, who, in referring to the “ethnic” Orthodox churches, pronounce them a travesty and sin against Orthodoxy, which is a universal church. As was Byzantium: A Commonwealth.

  5. proverbs6to10 says:

    Well I am stuck with it now Myrna. I should have looked more closely I guess. But it stays as do the comments and people can then judge for themselves!

Leave a Reply

