Welcome to My Byzantine Blog

How do you start a blog? What pearls of wisdom can one offer to amuse, educate, and inform the thousands of readers that you expect will flock to read your musings about your chosen subject? (Pause for effect) … I don’t know so I will just start.

Let me say why I have started this blog. I could go on forever on this subject, but the main reason is that Byzantium is an interesting enough subject in itself to justify regular musings. When combined with a belief that it still has something to contribute to the modern world that has, until quite recently, ignored it, then I think that reason enough. I will not spend too much time going into details of why, but I got to this point after a long journey of reading ancient and late antique history, travel to Turkey and Greece, more reading, and the final inspiration from the recent Byzantium 330-1453 exhibition at the Royal Academy in London, I have arrived.

Icon of the Archangel Michael, Constantinople, twelfth century

Icon of the Archangel Michael, Constantinople, twelfth century

I guess one of the attractions of blogging is that one can express opinions freely; I certainly have some opinions about the way Byzantine history and art is treated, both by the wider world, and its scholars. I will save that for later. Blogging should also have some context in time; like the proverbial newspaper of today, that is tomorrow’s fish and chip wrapper, blogs will date pretty quickly.

About proverbs6to10

Interested in Byzantium and Patrick Leigh Fermor
This entry was posted in Blog News & Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Welcome to My Byzantine Blog

  1. özgür says:

    welcome,

    I am waiting for new posts 🙂

    regards
    ozgur

  2. proverbs6to10 says:

    Hey Ozgur – I have a couple more now. I have some big news coming up which I will post soon.

  3. Laura DAL says:

    Hello Tom,

    I have just read your first posting, and couldn’t agree more with the reasons you exposed for starting a blog. As told before, I’am a huge fan of Byzantium and really appreciate what you are doing. I’m now in the process of reviewing all old post in the Blog. Funny enough, the picture you selected for your initial message is the same the MET museum used in its catalogue some years ago. Great.
    I look forward to share with you and all the Blog’s community. Cheers!

  4. Raita Steyn says:

    Dear Ozgur,

    This is very interesting…please feel free to join me on facebook under iconography..I am currently doing my Ph.D on Coptic and Byzantine icons – a comparative study. In the next three months my book on archangel Michael will also be avialable on amazon and will inform you in due future.

    I also teach private lessons in art…the course entails how to paint (write) an icon. This I do on a monthly basis.

  5. proverbs6to10 says:

    Hi Raita – I guess you mean me, Tom.

    If you would like to post something about your work on the blog it would be very welcome, particulary re icons. I see you did a Masters paper on the subject of the archangel Michael. When your book is ready why not tell us and we can make sure all the hundreds of people who visit the blog each month know about it.

    Tom

  6. Hey! This is a fascinating blog of Byzantine!…love to see your post. Just a first comer here!

  7. Raita Steyn says:

    Hi there! My book is out!
    Entitled: “Archangel Michael as Icon: The Byzantine approach compared to the modern one”

    Editorial Reviews

    Byzantine art and culture were essentially religious in character and the primary aim of Byzantine art was to capture that which was holy and mysterious in a concrete form such as icons. Due to Archangel Michael’s popularity among the Judeo-Christian angels in Greek society, the functions and status of Michael as ‘icon’ in a Greek Orthodox context are specifically examined. The subject of this study, therefore, focuses on the perception of Archangel Michael as an ‘icon’ in the pure Byzantine and Post?Byzantine Orthodox context of a ‘theological art picture; a religious, sacred image’, subject to the theological and artistic Byzantine prescriptions.

Leave a Reply

